Skip Navigation

Company History Burnus Group

1836
Like a number of firms of this type, the Burnus GmbH grew out of a soap and candle-making company August Jacobi had originally established under his own name as a small handicraft business in Landwehrstraße in Darmstadt in 1836. During the following decades the business developed into a soap factory.
1907
Also in Landwehrstraße, the Swabian chemist Dr. Otto Röhm is working with tannery chemicals in the Röhm und Haas firm, established in 1907. He is the first to use enzymes he extracted from cow stomachs for tanning. His wife originally has the idea that substances which are capable of dissolving fat in animal skins should also be suitable as a stain-remover for laundry. Otto Röhm picks up on this idea.
1914
Otto Röhm applies for a patent for the first enzymatic detergent. The name he gives it, BURNUS, is the German word for the white attire worn in Arabic countries. The product is first introduced in the form of tablets.
1916
The Röhm und Haas firm purchases the soap factory, now called August Jacobi and Son, as a production plant for detergents. Röhm and Haas become the sole distributors of BURNUS.
1920
The company August Jacobi and Son is restructured as August Jacobi AG and takes over the distribution of Burnus. The company also produces soaps and soap cake coolers.
1924
Following his invention of plexiglas, Otto Röhm lost interest in Burnus and turns the distribution over to the company Fattingerin Berlin, which is a subsidiary of the Scheidemantel conglomerate.
1925
As the distribution through Fattinger proves to be a failure, resulting in significant turnover losses, it is returned to the August Jacobi AG. This company has in the meantime become engaged in road construction, also with patented processes, and builds road construction machinery, in addition to cooling appliances.
1931
The detrimental effect of the worldwide recession is also making itself felt at the August Jacobi AG. Under its managing director Friedrich Groß, the company divests itself from all its loss-making business areas and is reorganized in order to concentrate its activities exclusively on the production of detergent under the brand name BURNUS.
1937
The August Jacobi AG is renamed the BURNUS AG.
1938
The Burnus AG is converted into the limited company BURNUS GmbH, the name it is still operating under today.
1948
All the production facilities of the Burnus GmbH are dismantled and removed by the Allied Forces.
The production of Burnus products is hence moved to the Worms production facility of the parent company, which is now operating under the name Röhm GmbH. The company's product range is continually expanded in the following years by products such as BURMAT, a general-purpose detergent, BURTI, a mild-action detergent for delicate fabrics, and the hand washing paste TUPPIX. But Burnus is also engaged in the professional detergent sector and market launches TEXASEPT, the first chemo-thermic disinfectant general-purpose detergent. Further developments and markets follow.
1976
Burnus acquires the company Snoek in Worblingen (in the Constance district), which is engaged in the body care sector with its GLYSOLID brand. The Worblingen factory is part of the Burnus Group to this day and still produces the Glysolid products.
1984
Burnus acquires the company Sodenta in Bad Soden (Tanus) with its AROSANA brand.
1997
The Röhm GmbH has meanwhile been absorbed by the Veba AG (now EON). As Veba no longer regards detergents and body care products as one of their main fields of activity, the Burnus GmbH is sold to the EFK Beteiligungs KG, which is owned by three families from Darmstadt.
1998
Burnus acquires the former Blendax brands KAMILL, LITAMIN, CLIFF and CREDO from Procter & Gamble.
1999
Establishment of the Burnus AG, Solothurn (Switzerland), BURNUS GmbH, Vienna (Austria), and Burnus Polska z.o.o., Warsaw (Poland). The Swiss body care product line SIBONET is purchased from Henkel in the same year.
2000
Establishment of a non-independent subsidiary in Jeddah (Saudi Arabia).
2002
Establishment of the Burnus-Glysolid srl., Cremona (Italy).
2003
Establishment of a representative office in Moscow (Russia). Acquisition of the Austrian soap brand HIRSCH from Unilever.
2004
Takeover of all shares in the Hychem GmbH in Steinau (Main-Kinzing District), a producer and distributor of professional detergents (25% market share in Germany) which developed out of the Jean P. Haas soap and candle-making works, founded in 1831 in Offenbach.
2005
Takeover of all shares in the Ernst Zeiss Wäscherei-Vertriebs GmbH in Mannheim.
Establishment of a representative office in Bombay (India).
2006
Change of name of the Hychem GmbH into BurnusHychem GmbH.
Establishment of a representative office in Dubai (United Arab Emirates).

Skip Navigation

Unternehmensgeschichte Burnus-Gruppe

1836
Wie viele Firmen ihrer Art ist die Burnus GmbH aus einer Seifensiederei und Kerzenzieherei hervorgegangen, die 1836 August Jacobi unter dieser Firma als kleinen Handwerksbetrieb in der Landwehrstraße in Darmstadt gründet und die sich in den darauffolgenden Jahrzehnten zur Seifenfabrik entwickelt.
1907
Der aus dem Schwäbischen stammende Chemiker, Dr. Otto Röhm, befasst sich in der Nachbarschaft der Landwehrstraße in der 1907 gegründeten Firma Röhm und Haas mit Gerbereichemikalien. Als erster verwendet er dazu Enzyme, die er aus Rindermägen gewinnt. Seine Frau hat die Idee, dass Stoffe, die Fett aus Tierhäuten lösen, auch geeignet sein müssten, den Wäscheschmutz zu entfernen. Otto Röhm greift die Idee auf, entwickelt das erste enzymatische Waschmittel und nennt es Burnus.
1914
Otto Röhm meldet das erste enzymatische Waschmittel als Patent an.
1916
Röhm und Haas kauft die inzwischen als August Jacobi und Sohn firmierende Seifenfabrik als Produktionsstätte für Waschmittel. Der Vertrieb von BURNUS liegt bei Röhm und Haas.
1920
Die Firma August Jacobi und Sohn wird in die August Jacobi AG umgegründet und übernimmt den Vertrieb von Burnus. Daneben werden Seifen und Seifen-Platten-Kühlapparate hergestellt.
1924
Otto Röhm hat nach der Erfindung des Plexiglases das Interesse an Burnus weitgehend verloren und vergibt den Vertrieb an die zum Scheidemantel-Konzern gehörende Firma Fattinger in Berlin.
1925
Als der Vertrieb über Fattinger nicht funktioniert und große Umsatzverluste eintreten, wird der Vertrieb auf die August Jacobi AG zurück übertragen. Diese ist inzwischen auch mit patentierten Verfahren im Straßenbau engagiert und baut neben Kühlapparaten auch Straßenbaumaschinen.
1931
Die Weltwirtschaftskrise macht auch der August Jacobi AG zu schaffen. Alle defizitären Bereiche werden unter dem Geschäftsführer Friedrich Groß abgestoßen und das Geschäft auf Waschmittel unter der Marke BURNUS konzentriert und neu geordnet.
1937
Die August Jacobi AG wird in BURNUS AG umbenannt.
1938
Die Burnus AG wird in die noch heute so firmierende BURNUS Gesellschaft mbH umgewandelt.
1948
Sämtliche Produktionsanlagen der Burnus GmbH werden von den Alliierten demontiert und abtransportiert.
Die Produktion der Burnus-Produkte erfolgt nun im Werk Worms der inzwischen nur noch als Röhm GmbH firmierenden Muttergesellschaft. Die Produktpalette der Gesellschaft wird in den folgenden Jahren ständig erweitert: BURMAT als Vollwaschmittel, BURTI als Feinwaschmittel, Handwaschpaste TUPPIX. Darüber hinaus wird Burnus im Bereich der professionellen Waschmittel tätig und bringt TEXASEPT als erstes chemo-thermisches Desinfektionsvollwaschmittel auf den Markt. Weitere Entwicklungen und Marken.
1976
Burnus kauft die Firma Snoek in Worblingen (Landkreis Konstanz), die im Bereich der Körperpflege mit der Marke GLYSOLID tätig ist. Bis heute gehört das Werk Worblingen zur Burnus Gruppe und produziert die Glysolid-Produkte.
1984
Burnus kauft die Firma Sodenta in Bad Soden (Taunus) mit der Marke AROSANA.
1997
Inzwischen gehört die Röhm GmbH zur Veba AG (heutige EON). Die Veba sieht Waschmittel und Körperpflege nicht mehr in ihrem Focus und verkauft die Burnus GmbH an die EFK Beteiligungs KG, die von drei Darmstädter Familien gehalten wird.
1998
Burnus kauft von Procter & Gamble die früheren Blendax-Marken KAMILL, LITAMIN, CLIFF und CREDO.
1999
Gründung der Burnus AG, Solothurn (Schweiz), BURNUS GmbH, Wien (Österreich), und der Burnus Polska z.o.o., Warschau (Polen). Im gleichen Jahr wird die Schweizer Körperpflegemarke SIBONET von Henkel erworben.
2000
Gründung der unselbständigen Niederlassung in Jeddah (Saudi-Arabien).
2002
Gründung der Burnus-Glysolid srl., Cremona (Italien).
2003
Gründung der Repräsentanz in Moskau (Russland). Erwerb der Seifen-Marke HIRSCH in Österreich von Unilever.
2004
Übernahme sämtlicher Anteile der Hychem GmbH in Steinau (Main-Kinzing-Kreis), einem Hersteller und Vertrieb von professionellen Waschmitteln (Marktanteil in Deutschland 25%), der aus der 1831 in Offenbach /Main gegründeten Seifensiederei und Kerzenzieherei Jean P. Haas hervorgegangen ist.
2005
Übernahme sämtlicher Anteile der Ernst Zeiss Wäscherei-Vertriebs GmbH in Mannheim.
Gründung der Repräsentanz in Bombay (Indien).
2006
Umfirmierung der Hychem GmbH in BurnusHychem GmbH.
Gründung der Repräsentanz in Dubai (Vereinigte Emirate).